top of page

Ever Thought Of…Video Games and Life?



What if I told you that a silly video game saved my relationship with my son? Would you believe me? Or would your think that I’m really a shallow person?

Well, it’s true.  My oldest son is from a relationship that I had before I met my wife and was married.  He would come over every other weekend and I would try to have things planned to do but nothing was working.  You see I didn’t understand that all he really wanted was my time, not my entertainment.  Often parents from broken relationships think that they have to entertain their kids on “their weekend”.

My son would come over and we really wouldn’t do much together, he was just there and after about a year of this it got old.  I started to notice that all he wanted to do was play video games.  One day we were talking to our cousin and he mentioned this game and suggested that we play. So we went out and rented it…wow! Who would have thought that, that video game would change our lives.

You see we began to play online and we both got pretty good at it (but my son got really good at it…better than me).  We started an online team together and we played with people from all over the world, but the cool thing was, as we played we grew closer.  Our relationship got stronger and stronger.  Unbelievable, this silly game restored our broken relationship.

Today me and my oldest son have a great relationship and we often talk about that game.

You see God will use anything to get us back on the path that He has for us. If you’re experiencing a disconnect with your children, find a common interest, something that both of you really like and do it together. You will be amazed at the outcome.

Just a thought…

bottom of page